Brussels, 16th February 2012

Following the successful launch last year of the European Independent Album of the Year Award, voting is now taking place on a 23-album shortlist to decide this year’s winner.

Who will succeed Efterklang’s “Magic Chairs”, winner of the inaugural award? The announcement will be made on Wednesday 29th February.  

This European Mercury-style award celebrates the musical talent and diversity of independent European releases. It promotes exceptional artists and the independent sector alike.

IMPALA has teamed up with Spotify to make a playlist so you can judge for yourselves in advance of the big day.  The playlist is available on:

Helen Smith, Executive Chair, IMPALA said: “The 23 albums short-listed for the award this year once again show the incredible vitality of the independent sector all over Europe.”

About the Independent Album of the Year Award

The “European Independent Album of The Year” award was launched last year, together with the annual “Outstanding Contribution to European Music” award, to mark the 10th anniversary of IMPALA. The European Independent Album of the Year Award showcases the breadth and diversity of independent talent across Europe. The winner is selected on the basis of completely open criteria from a shortlist compiling national and non-national album nominations from territories across Europe put forward for their musical, artistic or other exceptional quality. Nominated albums were required to have been released in 2011 (January – December), on a European independent label. A jury of IMPALA board members will choose the winner. 


IMPALA was established in April 2000 to represent independent music companies. 99% of Europe’s music companies are SMEs. Known as the “independents”, they are world leaders in terms of innovation and discovering new music and artists – they produce more than 80% of all new releases. SME’s also produce 80% of Europe’s jobs. IMPALA has its own award schemes to help promote cultural diversity and new talent and highlight the artistic contribution of independent music. IMPALA award winning artists include Efterklang, Adele, Manu Chao, Radiohead, Agnes Obel, Caro Emerald and Sigur Ros.

IMPALA – Independent Music Companies Association

Rue des Deux Eglises 37-39, 1000, Brussels, BELGIUM

+32 2 503 31 38