The European Independent Album of the Year Award was launched for IMPALA’s tenth birthday and ran for ten years celebrating the rich musical talent and diversity of independent European releases. The winner was selected on the basis of completely open criteria from a shortlist of albums nominated for their musical, artistic or other exceptional quality. Each year the shortlist was also published to showcase the independent sector’s diversity. This award was replaced in 2022 by 100 Artists to Watch, see more here.

Winners and shortlists:
2020 –Vitamin C by My Ugly Clementineshortlist here, listen to a podcast we did with the winners          on SpotifyApple PodcastsGoogle Podcast and Deezer.
2019 – LP5 by Apparatshortlist here
2018 – Street Worms by Viagra Boys, shortlist here
2017 – In My Head by Gurr, shortlist here
2016 – Citizen of Glass by Agnes Obel, shortlist here
2015 – Vestiges & Claws by José González, shortlist here
2014 – Our Love by Caribou, shortlist here
2013 – Guadalupe Plata by Guadalupe Plata, shortlist here
2012 – Coexist by The xx, shortlist here
2011 – 21 by Adele, shortlist here
2010 – Magic Chairs by Efterklang, shortlist here

Listen to the winners of the 10 years here.

IMPALA – Independent Music Companies Association

Rue des Deux Eglises 37-39, 1000, Brussels, BELGIUM

+32 2 503 31 38