Music Moves Europe Talent Awards Ceremony 2021 going digital

Date 6th January 2021,

The 2021 Music Moves Europe Talent Awards Ceremony becomes fully digital. On Friday 15 January, starting at 20:00 hrs, the winners will be revealed of this annual EU prize for popular and contemporary music which is co-funded by the Creative Europe programme. The Public Choice Winner will be announced by the European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth Mariya Gabriel. 

The ceremony will be presented by UK artist Melanie C. Previous ceremony hosts were Jools Holland together with Eric Corton in 2019 and Thomas Neuwirth in 2020. The ceremony as well as its side programme will take place within the digital venue Nite Hotel ( starting on Tuesday 12 January. 

A total of sixteen outstanding artists are nominated for the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards 2021. The nominees are: 

Alyona Alyona (ua)

Bratři (cz)

Calby (dk)

Crystal Murray (fr)

Inhaler (ie)

Julia Bardo (it)

Lina_ Raül Refree (pt)

Lous and The Yakuza (be)

Melenas (es)

Mero (de)

My Ugly Clementine (at)

Nea (se)

Rimon (nl)

Sassy 009 (no)

Squid (uk)

Vildá (fi) 

Celebrating European Talent

Compared to Anglo-American music, the total percentage of music originating from continental Europe is relatively small. The Music Moves Europe Talent Awards are designed to accelerate the international careers of upcoming European artists.

Music Moves Europe

Music is one of the most popular forms of art, widely consumed, and a vibrant expression of Europe’s cultural diversity. Music Moves Europe, the overarching framework for the European Commission’s initiatives and actions in support of the European music sector aims to help the music sector flourish. In line with this approach, the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards, co-funded by the Creative Europe programme, the EU funding programme for the culture and audiovisual sector,wants to contribute to the creativity, diversity and competitiveness of the music sector in Europe.

Organising coalition

The Music Moves Europe Talent Awards are organised by ESNS and Reeperbahn Festival in partnership with Yourope, Independent Music Companies Association (IMPALA), International Music Managers Forum (IMMF), Liveurope, Live DMA, European Music Exporters Exchange (EMEE), Digital Music Europe (DME) and media partner European Broadcasting Union (EBU), with support from the Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, Province of Groningen and the City of Groningen. The awards are implemented in close cooperation with the European Commission and financially supported by Creative Europe.


More information & contact

Download Music Moves Europe Talent Awards Logo

Download Press Photos Nominees

On the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards

On Music Moves Europe

On Creative Europe

Contact Lesley Baker:

IMPALA – Independent Music Companies Association

Rue des Deux Eglises 37-39, 1000, Brussels, BELGIUM

+32 2 503 31 38